ATV/Snowmobile



New or Used ATV/Snowmobile purchased from dealer:
Registration is completed by the dealer.

Used ATV/Snowmobile sale between private parties (previously registered):
Iowa Registered - registration does NOT need to be current to transfer ownership but a $5.00 penalty may apply (see Used Vehicle Fees). **If the title has a notation regarding a lien, the lien MUST be released by the County Recorder listed on the title.

Registered Out of State - ATV/Snowmobile Never Registered in any State:
Contact your local County Recorder or the Iowa Department of Natural Resources at 1-515-281-5918 for instructions.

New Vehicle Fees:
Between Jan 1st thru Dec 31st, to end of current year: Between Sept 1st thru Dec 21st, to end of following year: Title Fees: $11.50
Lien Fees: $11.50

Used Vehicle Fees:
With current registration: With expired registration:
Between Jan 1st thru Dec 31st, to end of current year: Between Sept 1st thru Dec. 31st to end of following year: **A used vehicle in possession of a Snow/ATV dealer when registration expired will NOT pay the $5.00 penalty fee.

The information contained herein is subject to change by the Iowa Department of Natural Resources. If you have any questions, please contact your local County Recorder or the Iowa Department of Natural Resources at 1-515-281-5918.