Boats



New Boats purchased from dealer:
Documents will be provided by dealer, which includes:
New Boat Fees:
New Boat or Reactivate-Documented Vessel
1/1/10 - 4/30/11
$ 25.00
5/1/11 - 4/30/12
$ 16.60
5/1/12 - 12/31/12
$ 8.30
Renew Registration-Documented Vessel
1/1/10 - 4/30/11
$ 25.00
5/1/11 - 4/30/12
$ 25.00
5/1/12 - 12/31/12
$ 25.00
New Boat or Reactivate-All Personal Watercraft
1/1/10 - 4/30/11
$ 45.00
5/1/11 - 4/30/12
$ 30.00
5/1/12 - 12/31/12
$ 15.00
Renew Registration-All Personal Watercraft
1/1/10 - 4/30/11
$ 45.00
5/1/11 - 4/30/12
$ 45.00
5/1/12 - 12/31/12
$ 45.00
New Boat or Reactivate-Any Length without Motor or Sail
1/1/10 - 4/30/11
$ 12.00
5/1/11 - 4/30/12
$ 8.00
5/1/12 - 12/31/12
$ 4.00
Renew Registration-Any Length, without Motor or Sail
1/1/10 - 4/30/11
$ 12.00
5/1/11 - 4/30/12
$ 12.00
5/1/12 - 12/31/12
$ 12.00
New Boat or Reactivate-Less than 16ft (Motor/Sail)
1/1/10 - 4/30/11
$ 22.50
5/1/11 - 4/30/12
$ 15.00
5/1/12 - 12/31/12
$ 7.50
Renew Registration-Less than 16ft (Motor/Sail)
1/1/10 - 4/30/11
$ 22.50
5/1/11 - 4/30/12
$ 22.50
5/1/12 - 12/31/12
$ 22.50
New Boat or Reactivate-16ft to Under 26ft (Motor/Sail)
1/1/10 - 4/30/11
$ 36.00
5/1/11 - 4/30/12
$ 24.00
5/1/12 - 12/31/12
$ 12.00
Renew Registration-16ft to Under 26ft (Motor/Sail)
1/1/10 - 4/30/11
$ 36.00
5/1/11 - 4/30/12
$ 36.00
5/1/12 - 12/31/12
$ 36.00
New Boat or Reactivate-26ft to Under 40ft (Motor/Sail)
1/1/10 - 4/30/11
$ 75.00
5/1/11 - 4/30/12
$ 50.00
5/1/12 - 12/31/12
$ 25.00
Renew Registration-26ft to Under 40ft (Motor/Sail)
1/1/10 - 4/30/11
$ 75.00
5/1/11 - 4/30/12
$ 75.00
5/1/12 - 12/31/12
$ 75.00
New Boat or Reactivate-40ft and Over (Motor/Sail)
1/1/10 - 4/30/11
$150.00
5/1/11 - 4/30/12
$100.00
5/1/12 - 12/31/12
$ 50.00
Renew Registration-40ft and Over (Motor/Sail)
1/1/10 - 4/30/11
$150.00
5/1/11 - 4/30/12
$150.00
5/1/12 - 12/31/12
$150.00
Transfers-(If Expired, Also Add Renewal Fee)
1/1/10 - 4/30/11
$ 1.00
5/1/11 - 4/30/12
$ 1.00
5/1/12 - 12/31/12
$ 1.00

All boats 17ft long or longer and any boat that carries a lien need to be titled.
The exceptions are Canoes- Kayaks-Inflatable vessels regardless of length.
$10.00 Title Fee
$10.00 Lien Fee
You will need to add $1.25 to the above fees for the County Recorder writing fees.
If mailed you will need to add $1.00 per item requested for postage.

Used Boats purchased from dealer:
Iowa Registered - registration does NOT need to be current to transfer ownership.

Documentation Required: **If the title has a notation regarding a lien, the lien MUST be released by the County Recorder's office listed on the title.

Fees - Current Registration Fees - Expired Registration
Use New Boat Fee listed under 1/1/07-4/30/08 according to length of boat. ** If registration was expired when the dealer took possession of the boat there will be a $5.00 penalty added to the fees listed above.

Used Boats purchased from dealer:
Registered in another state.

Documentation Required Used boats previously registered in another state will pay the fees listed for "New Boat Fees" prorated by date of registration, plus any title or lien fees.


Casual** Sales (**Sale between individuals):

Used Boats:
Iowa Registered - registration does NOT need to be current to transfer ownership, but a $5.00 penalty may apply.

Documentation Required **If the title has a notation regarding a lien, the lien MUST be released by the County Recorder's office listed on the title.

Fees - Current Registration Fees - Expired Registration
Use New Boat Fee listed under 1/1/07-4/30/08 according to length of boat. Used Boats:
Registered in another state.

Documentation Required Used boats previously registered in another state will pay the fees listed for "New Boat Fees" , prorated by date of registration, plus any penalty, title or lien fees.

A Boat never Registered in any State:
Contact your local County Recorder or the Iowa Department of Natural Resources (1-515-281-5918) for documentation required and fees.

The information contained herein is subject to change by the Iowa Department of Natural Resources. If you have any questions, please contact you local County Recorder or the Iowa Department of Natural Resources at (1-515-281-5918).