County Government Organization

There are three basic forms of county government: Traditional Plural Executive Form (the current form in Black Hawk County); the Elected Executive Plan; and the County Manager Form. Under the County Charter Government Bill passed in 1988 by the Iowa General Assembly, counties are allowed to study and change that form.

Elected Officials
Elected Officials are the board of supervisors, recorder, treasurer, auditor, sheriff and county attorney. Each official is elected to a four-year term.

John Miller (D) Supervisor2016
Linda Laylin (D) Supervisor.Chair Protem2016
Tom Little (D)Supervisor, Chair2016
Craig White (D) Supervisor2018
Frank Magsamen (D) Supervisor2018
Linda Fangman (R)Attorney2018
Rita Schmidt (R)Treasurer2018
Tony Thompson (D)Sheriff2016
Sandie Smith (D)Recorder2018
Grant Veeder (D) Auditor2016

Appointed Officials
Appointed Officials are appointed, or hired, by the Board of Supervisors to manage administrative departments. The following department heads serve at the pleasure of the Board of Supervisors.

Rory GevingSuperintendent of Maintenance Building Maintenance
Kim M. VeederInformation Technology Director Information Technology (IT)
Catherine NicholasCounty Engineer Engineer
Dennis ColemanCountry View Administrator Country View
Audra HeinemanHuman Resources Human Resources
Bob LincolnCommunity Services Administrator Community Services

Appointments for some officials are handled differently, such as the Health Department, Conservation and Veterans' Affairs. The Health Department and Conservation are their own "Employer of Record" so are not part of county bargaining units. The director of the Health Department is appointed by the Board of Health, whose five members are appointed to three year terms by the Board of Supervisors.

Bruce MeisingerHealth Department Director Health Department

The executive director for Conservation is appointed by the Conservation Board. Appointments to the five member board are made by the Board of Supervisors and serve five year terms.

Vern FishConservation Executive Director Conservation Board

The director for Veterans Affairs is appointed by the Veterans' Commission. Appointments to the five member commission are made by the Board of Supervisors. Commissioners serve three year staggered terms.

Bennie SpainExecutive Director Veterans Affairs

Associate Official
Associate Official refers to the assessor. The county assessor is appointed by a Conference Board that consists of members of the Board of Supervisors, a representative from each of the school districts and the mayor from each of the cities in the county. Term of appointment is six years. The assessor's budget is appropriated by its own tax levy, unlike other departments.

TJ Koenigsfeld Assessor 2015